Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Happy Mother’s Day

(I still miss you Mom. Love you.)

Hi Mom,

I just wanted to take a few minutes and wish you a Happy Mother’s Day – and to tell you a few things that I should have said long ago. You’ve been gone for a long time now and still there are so many moments that help me to remember you and make me miss your wisdom. It has taken me a lot of years to realize just how smart you were.

As a young man I was always so certain that I knew more than you; that my education had taught me so many things. I didn’t understand then all of the harsh lessons that your years had taught you. You lived through so many things, so much trial and heartache. You saw so many things that I never knew how to appreciate. I want to thank you so much for the wisdom you tried to pass to me. I can’t do that though. All I can do is be grateful and try to pass it on as best I can.

I want to thank you for the times you fed us, while doing without. You fought so desperately to keep us all together and to keep us fed and cared for. I did not understand then the sacrifices that you made for us, and how willingly you made them. Only time could teach me this lesson, among many others.

Finally I just wanted to tell you how very proud I have always been to be your son. I want to tell you how much I love you still, with all my heart. I can’t tell you these things now and know that I should have said them more often in times past. I just wanted to tell you Happy Mother’s Day.

May 9, 2015 - Posted by | Random Musings

4 Comments »

  1. So Beautiful.

    Comment by naalehugirl2014 | May 9, 2015 | Reply

  2. Thank you!

    Comment by Brady | May 9, 2015 | Reply

  3. I need to thank your mom for the wonderful man that has always been there for me when things were good and mostly when things were rough. She instilled love into your heart and I was the lucky woman to received it. Thank you Nancy for giving me your son.

    Comment by Janice | May 10, 2015 | Reply

  4. Really powerful, Brady. Sadly, we often don’t appreciate who or what we have, until we have it no longer. But, I bet your Mom in heaven knows that you love her.

    Comment by Cindy Wert | May 15, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

