Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Do Over

(From watching a game played recently)

If I could live my life again,
Without the same mistakes,
Then I might be a better man,
With one of life’s retakes.

The children call them do overs,
And they’re in every game.
Just use these words to start over
And forget all of the pain.

If I could start my life anew,
No old scars would I wear,
All my mistakes I could redo,
And no guilt would I bear.

I’d have no old pain in my life,
And I might live so wild,
Without the true love of a wife
And the gift of a child.

I’d be a different man I know,
Without all of these things,
But different’s not that great you know,
Without the love life brings.

September 4, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry |

6 Comments »

  1. I like this, We all say if I could do it over again I would do it differently. And yet as you point out, look what we would miss! Yes I certainly do like this.

    Comment by heartspurs | September 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you!

      Comment by Brady | September 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. Your work is soothing to my soul.

    Comment by Susie | September 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for the kind words!

      Comment by Brady | September 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. Do over? I don’t believe I would do that. We all have choices, and we all choose our own path. I really like this!

    Comment by Anonymous | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  4. A good one. I enjoyed it.

    Comment by thebardonthehill | September 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

