Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Solitude

Because so many of us do not know how to enjoy being alone. (Written in blank verse.)

In solitude do I rest my spirit,
Silence my fortress of tranquility.
Here I lay the cares of the day to rest
And let tomorrow’s works care for themselves.

Here in stillness a cool breeze touches me,
Gently brushing away the dust of day.
From a dark velvet, star filled canopy
The Great and Little Bears well guard my peace.

Familiar voices sing familiar songs
And happily I join in glad refrain,
As remembered melodies uplift me,
For here are none allowed that barb and mock.

Fear not the solitude that lies within,
For it is but a restful, quiet place,
To flee for just a while from all the world
And find a little measure of sweet peace.

July 14, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

