Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Riddle in Sand

This came from a stray thought I had concerning paradoxes. (Iambic heptameter in ballad stanza for the curious.)

While walking in a lonely place,
I chanced upon a strand.
There I found a set of footprints,
That led into the sand.

They trailed from water’s edge as though
Returning from the sea,
But failed to march both back and forth,
Which begged a quandary.

“If trail leads but from sea to sand,’
“Yet not from sand to sea,”
“Then how did it come to this place,”
“And where now will it lead?”

I knew then I had to answer
This quest most perplexing,
And if I tossed it from my mind,
It would be most vexing!

So away I went to answer,
This puzzle I had found,
And trailed the prints into the sand,
To see what might come round.

Throughout the day to dusk I walked,
And then into the night,
Along a lonely strand of sand
Lit only by moonlight.

Until I reached the pathway’s end,
I did not stop nor rest,
Following the set of footprints
That held my mind possessed.

As dawn was breaking o’er the sea
And day ached in my eyes,
I saw the set of prints had stopped
Quite near the foamy brine.

I stared astonished at the sight
That confounded my mind.
The foot prints I’d faithfully trailed,
Were none other but mine!


July 11, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry |

2 Comments »

  1. 🙂 This was fun. You had me tracking right along with you

    Comment by heartspurs | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL..Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the trip.

      Comment by Brady Waugh | July 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

