Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Painting With Words

Just the product of a short session of playing with words and forms.

“What do you do?” the little girl asked me.
“I paint pictures with words inside your head.”
“How do you do that?” she wanted to know.
“I glue them together with thoughts and dreams,”
“And march them together in lines and rows.”
“I make them tell stories of kings and queens”
“And castles and dragons and other things.”

“Can I please do that? It sounds like such fun,”
She clapped and asked me with a winsome grin.
“Of course,” I told her. “Just use the right tools,”
“A pen and a dream, a wish to come true,”
“And that sweet silent music of the soul,”
“To hear with your heart and see with your pen,”
“The painting with words that’s done by a poet.”

June 3, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I love this. So light and sweet, airy description of poetry.

    Comment by heartspurs | June 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

