Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Fields of Flowers

Written after I saw a shot of thousands of soldiers’ graves decorated with small American flags.

I walked along the park road,
Taking in the scents of spring.
I drew near an open field
And beheld a wondrous thing!

So many perfect flowers,
Gently nodding in the air,
Twenty thousand perfect blooms,
In the field were growing there.

A verdant plain of colors
All in blues and whites and reds,
So perfect and in order,
Shooting straight up from their beds.

As I drew near my heart ached,
And my will began to lag.
The blossoms made my tears flow,
For each flower was a flag.

May 26, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh my. I was not prepared for the last line. Beautiful.

    Comment by heartspurs | May 27, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you!

    Comment by Brady Waugh | May 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

