Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Making Time

This was the result of a conversation that I had with a young lady who told me about her classes and about the fact that she needed to make more time for things.
I sat and watched a dear friend as he hustled to and fro,
He rushed throughout his day then waved goodbye and turned to go,
I asked him why he bustled through the same tasks every day,
And more so why he scurried in the same old harried way.

He stopped and turned and looked at me, puzzled that I would ask
Then he shook his head and smiled as he turned back to his task.
“I missed the PTA last week and my son’s baseball game,”
“My wife has had to cancel her reunion yet again.”

“We haven’t sat to dinner all together in so long,”
“And my children look at me now as if I don’t belong.”
“I’ve got to make more time so I can do all of these things,”
“But the harder that I try the more behind I get it seems.”

I thought for a moment about the things that I could see
That truly mattered in my life and meant so much to me.
“So just how do you make time and what magic do you use,”
“That might let you win this race and what happens if you lose?”

“You’ve set the bar very high and the stakes so very dear,”
“And I can’t help but wonder if your goal is all that clear.”
“If you fail to make more time will your life go up in smoke,”
“Or will the love and the warmth that surrounds you begin to slowly choke?”

He gave a brief and wry glance at the papers in his hand
Then tossed them down upon his desk as he held out his hand.
“I’ve got to run,” he said “and now I’m out of time it seems,”
“I have a crucial meeting with a precious family.”
May 15, 2011 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you for posting this. I enjoyed reading today’s article very much. Spending time with my family is something I do often. I try to keep up with today’s trends so we have more in common. Thanks again for sharing your article.

    Comment by Changing Lifestyles | May 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comment! When I was younger I didn’t realize the importance of time with my family. It was a lesson I learned later in life.

      Comment by Brady Waugh | May 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yes I know what you mean. I was smart enough to learn the lesson at an early age in my adult life. Feel free to stop by anytime!

    Comment by Family Lifestyles | May 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. A lesson for us all.

    Comment by Anonymous | May 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

