Tracks of a Wandering Mind

Poetry, stories and random thoughts from a wandering mind.

Dancing with my demons

I often dream about ambulance calls that I have run, particularly some of the worst ones.  This was born out of a very rocky night’s sleep.

It’s too late to be quiet now and they’re all awake you see
And time has come once again for the trip they take with me.
I cannot stand this very often and my soul can’t take the strain,
For it’s feeding time again and my demons feed on pain.

Back and forth they wander through the boxes in my mind
And shuffle through the memories I’ve gathered over time.
They take one out and look at it and hold it to the light
And demand that I dance with them to the music of the night.

From this first box a boy not ten has come to take his turn
And yet once again I see the fire all around him burn.
Again I watch and listen as a father cries in pain,
He tells me he can’t see and says the small boy’s name again.

This first dance now is over as the dancer fades from sight
And another takes his place as time marches through the night.
All the ones I could not save no matter that I tried so hard
Once again they all dance with me these demons of the dark.

October 26, 2009 - Posted by | Poetry | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

